A Business-Minded Approach To Employment Law

What does Florida law have to say about working hours for teens?

On Behalf of | Feb 20, 2016 | Employment Disputes |

While we tend to think that teens are relatively immune to any sort of financial worries, this isn’t always the case. Indeed, consider that many teens may find themselves on the hook for everything from their car insurance and cell phone bill to their clothing and a portion of their college tuition.

Accordingly, there is no choice for many teens but to head to the nearest store, restaurant, movie theater or other retail establishment in the hopes of landing a job for both the summer and the school year.

Whether they are merely searching, about to start a new job or have been working at a particular location for several months, it’s important for teens to understand that they are entitled to certain protections under Florida law — particularly as they relate to restrictions on work hours. In other words, they should know that their employers can’t force them to work beyond what is considered legally permissible.

In today’s post, we’ll discuss the state’s work hour restrictions for those minors between the ages of 14 to 15.

When school is out for the summer, what is the maximum number of hours that they are allowed to work?

Florida law dictates that when school is not in session, 14- and 15-year-olds can work up to 40 hours per week, eight hours per day. However, it also states that they may not work prior to 7 a.m. or anytime after 9 p.m. from June 1 through Labor Day.

How do things differ when school is in session?

State law declares that 14- and 15-year-olds may not work more than 15 hours during any given school week and three hours per day on those days when school is in session. Furthermore, they are limited to eight hours per day on Saturdays, Sundays and non-school days (when a regular school day does not follow) up until 7 p.m.

Are 14- and 15-year-olds subject to any other work hour restrictions?   

From Labor Day through June 1, 14- and 15-year-olds may not work before 7 a.m. or anytime after 7 p.m.

We’ll continue this discussion in our next post, focusing on the work hour restrictions governing 16- and 17-year-olds.

If you believe that your employee rights have been violated in any capacity — failures to pay minimum wage, work hour violations, discriminatory practices, etc. — please consider speaking with an experienced legal professional as soon as possible.